妊娠母猪群养的重要注意事项

作者 Dr. Lori Thomas, Gratien Thériault & Samuel Lefebvre

几十年来,妊娠母猪一直都是待在恶劣的环境中度过其整个妊娠期,并在这样的环境中分娩。随着时间的流逝,生产者意识到养猪时具有一个可控环境的好处。然后,妊娠母猪被转入室内环境,并且一整个妊娠期都圈养在限位栏中。

尽管这种做法有很多好处(母猪单独喂养,管理也简单),但出于对动物福利的考量,养殖者开始选择考虑为母猪提供群养环境,而这些替代方案也存在与福利有关的缺点。尽管如此,我们有一些如何成功的设计群养模式并控制每头母猪的采食量的建议。

母猪饲喂系统有不计其数的选择

在决定采用群养方式饲养妊娠母猪时,比如如何饲喂母猪(如何选择饲喂系统)、地板类型、群体结构和合群等,都有许多可选项。 因此,选项的排列组合结果将会是多到不计其数。

通常,在计划如何对怀孕母猪进行群养时,大多数决定都是围绕着如何喂养猪只进行的。如果怀孕母猪没有得到适当的喂养,那么它对其他区域的关注度就会增加(例如,更好斗/极具攻击性)。因此,决定如何去选择一个最佳的母猪饲喂系统至关重要。

如上所述,我们有着无数种饲喂处理方式,从地面饲喂到使用母猪电子饲喂器 (ESF)[1]  去独立饲喂母猪。我们就个人而言,建议饲喂时能够让母猪单独采食。

大小因素

妊娠栏内的母猪使用面积

为群养妊娠母猪设计一个适合的猪舍,我们需要考虑好两个重要的因素:母猪使用面积和群体大小。虽然有着各式各样的研究,但是大多数的研究结果都认同,对于群养舍内的猪只最小使用面积:后备母猪为15~18平方英尺(1.4~1.67㎡),经产母猪为19~24平方英尺(1.77~2.23㎡)[2][3]

对于妊娠母猪群养最大的考虑因素之一是母猪之间的攻击性行为,即:假如没有足够的面积给母猪,它们之间就会非常容易相互攻击彼此。为后备母猪和经产母猪提供足够的空间,可以降低猪只间的攻击行为,减少受伤情况,改善母猪的生产性能和拥有更长的使用年限 [2].

群体大小和正确的管理方式

当制定群养计划时,像使用面积、群体大小等因素需要去确定。可以成功地实践和管理各种群体规模。通常,与小群体相比较,在大群中的母猪打斗更少 [2].

这种攻击行为上的差异,我们可以用大群体中的母猪能拥有更大的空间和母猪之间能够识别栏内所有的伙伴来解释。因此,打斗行为更少了[4],[5]。但是,群体规模越大也并不意味着越好。例如,在一个超过100头母猪的栏内找到一头特定的猪只,肯定会带来时效上的挑战。因此,妊娠母猪的群体大小推荐量往往是基于可用的空间、工作量、管理措施来综合考虑再决定。

妊娠大栏和栏内猪只的群组结构

除了群体规模大小和使用面积外,母猪如何组群在一起,也是非常重要的因素。正如先前相关研究显示的那样,群组内的构成结构也会对攻击性行为有影响[6][7]. 需要特别指出的是,有研究建议群养的年轻母猪(后备母猪和第一胎的母猪)需要和年龄大的母猪(第二胎及以上的经产母猪)分开饲养,以最大化的降低它们之间的攻击性行为[8]

根据可用的饲喂系统,这种分组策略将允许生产者向年轻(初产/一胎)和老龄(经产)母猪饲喂不同的日粮或复合型日粮,从而更好地满足其营养需求。

但是,佳饲达3G自由进出栏饲喂系统在混合群体中也显示出了很好的效果。

混群的时机:胚胎着床前VS后

可以说,养殖者将生产方式转变为群养时,面临的最大担忧之一是分娩率,以及群养导致死胎甚至流产的风险增加。因此,需要选择在胚胎着床前或是在着床后进行合群。

着床发生在妊娠的第11至28天之间,定义为胚胎附着在子宫壁上的时间段。在这段时间内应避免压力,因为妊娠母猪已经意识到怀孕并且它们体内激素也相应发生了许多变化。

因此,建议在着床前(妊娠第4天)或着床后(第35+天/孕检)进行合群。研究一致认为在着床期间不应进行合群。但是,关于哪种合群方式更优的研究结果并不一致 [2].

不要忘记设置隔离栏

在规划群养栏时,隔离栏似乎并不是最优先考虑的事,或者可能没有详细讨论。研究和经验表明,群养栏内的妊娠母猪会有一些打斗行为,其直接结果是会导致受伤。必须制定一个针对受伤母猪的预案,以保证其生产力和动物福利不受影响。将500磅+以上的受伤母猪带到最近的限位栏中可能会非常困难。因此,生产者应仔细设计实用的护理隔离栏,使护理隔离栏的占地面积降低至只占栏圈面积的3%至5%。

群养模式可以被成功的复制

总而言之,当妊娠母猪的群养是可以取得成功的。但这是一个受多重变量影响的事件,受饲喂系统、使用面积、组群的大小及其组成,以及混群时机的极大影响。

各项注意事项超出了本文的讨论范围,包括:组群结构(静态模式或动态模式)、群养栏的设计(饮水器,躺卧区隔断等)、地板(全漏缝,半漏缝等)和铺垫材料(富集程度)。重要的是您要熟悉这些要素中的每一个,让您的设计为母猪创造最佳的环境和获得更高的成功几率。

同样,您决定与之合作的公司也会影响安装工程的成功。其对现场情况的应变能力和经验是必须要考虑的。

佳饲达 群养系统

佳饲达3G 是一种基于自由进出栏的饲喂系统,将自由进出栏和电子喂食系统的优点完美结合在一起。该系统由吉佳科技所开发,而这家企业的拥有者也是养猪人。该系统可靠,使用后可在妊娠期取得明显效果,并且无需花费数小时训练母猪。

Documentation 

[1] Li, Yuzhi. 2015. Research on group-housing for sows. Available: https://wcroc.cfans.umn.edu/sites/wcroc.cfans.umn.edu/files/Full%20paper%20%28YL%29%20Research%20on%20group%20housing%20for%20sows.pdf

[2] Hemsworth, P. H., M. Rice, J. Nash, K. Giri, K. L. Butler, A. J. Tilbrook, and R. S. Morrison. 2013. Effects of group size and floor space allowance on grouped sows: Aggression, stress, skin injuries, and reproductive performance. J. Anim. Sci. 4953-4964.

[3] Spoolder, H. A. M., M. J. Geudeke, C. M. C. Van der Peet-Schwering, and N. M. Soede. 2009. Group housing of sows in early pregnancy: A review of success and risk factors. Livest. Sci. 125: 1-14.

[4]Turner, S. P., and S. A. Edwards. 2000. Housing in large groups reduces aggressiveness of growing pigs. Proceedings of the 51st Annual Meeting of the European Association for Animal Production. The Hague, The Netherlands. 21-24.

[5] Turner, S. P., G. W. Horgan, and S. A. Edwards. 2001. Effect of social group size on aggressive behavior between unacquainted domestic pigs. Applied Animal Behavior Science. 74:203-215.

[6]Kirkwood, R. and A. Zanella. 2005. Influence of gestation housing on sow welfare and productivity. National Pork Board Final Report.

[7]Salak-Johnson, J. L., S. R. Niekamp, S. L. Rodriguez-Zas, M. Ellis, and S. E. Curtis. 2007. Space allowance for dry, pregnant sows in pens: body condition, aggressiveness, and reproductive failure in group-housed sows. J. Anim. Sci. 85:1758-1769.

[8] Strawford, M. L., Y. Z. Li, and H. W. Gonyou. 2008. The effect of management strategies and parity on the behaviour and physiology of gestating sows housed in an electronic sow feeding system. Can. J. Anim. Sci. 88: 559-567.

Important Considerations for Group Housed Pregnant Sows

By Dr. Lori Thomas, Gratien Thériault and Samuel Lefebvre

For decades, pregnant sows completed their gestation period on dirt lots and farrowed in these environments. As time went on, producers realized the benefits of a controlled environment when raising pigs, and gestating sows were brought indoors and housed in individual crates for their full pregnancy.

Although this practice had many benefits (females were fed individually and management was simple), welfare concerns have led producers to consider group housing options for pregnant sows and these alternatives have welfare-related shortcomings as well. Nevertheless, there are recommendations on how to design group housing to be successful and still control feed intake of each sow.

Many, many options for sow feeding systems

When making the decision to group house gestating sows, there are numerous options on how to feed the sows (feeding system), the type of flooring, group structure, and group formation. Thus, the combination of options can become overwhelming.

In general, most decisions made when planning how to group house pregnant sows, revolves around how the animals will be fed. If pregnant females are not fed properly, other areas of concern are amplified (i.e. aggression). Thus, determining the optimal sow feeding system, is crucial.

As mentioned, there are numerous feeding solutions, ranging from floor feeding to individually feeding females with electronic sow feeders (ESF)[1]. We personally recommend that the sow gets isolated while feeding.

Size Matters

Space allowance in the gestating pens

Space allowance and group size are two important factors to consider when designing a building suitable for group housed gestating sows. Although research varies, most would agree that the minimum space allowance for group housed animals is between 15-18 sq ft for gilts and between 19-24 sq ft for sows[2],[3].

One of the greatest concerns with group housing gestating sows is aggression, which is easily aggravated if females do not have enough space. Providing gilts and sows with more space results in less aggression and less injuries, improving sow productivity and longevity[2].

Group size and the right sow management

Like space allowance, group size needs to be determined when making plans for group housing. A wide range of group sizes can be practiced and managed successfully. In general, females in large groups fight less, compared to small groups[2].

This difference in aggression is explained by large groups having more space as well as sows being unable to recognize all their pen mates and as a result, fight less[4],[5]. However, bigger does not always mean better. For example, finding an individual sow in a pen of 100+ animals, can certainly be a timely challenge. Thus, recommendations for group sizes for gestating sows vary based on space available, labor and management practices.

Gestating Pen and their Group Composition

In addition to group size and space allowance, it is also important to decide how the females will be grouped together, as previous research has shown that group composition can have an effect on aggression[6],[7]. Specifically, research suggests grouping young females (gilts and parity 1 sows) separate from older sows (parity 2+) to minimize aggression[8].

Depending on the feeding system available, this grouping strategy would allow for producers to feed different diets or blends to young and old sows, better meeting their nutrient requirements. 

However, the Gestal 3G free access feeding system has also shown great results with heterogeneous groups.

Time of Mixing: Pre vs. Post Implantation

Arguably one of the biggest concerns producers face when moving to group housing revolves around farrowing fate, and the increased risk of embryo mortality and even pregnancy failure, as a result of group housing. Because of this, mixing is strategized and done either pre or post-implantation.

Implantation occurs between days 11 to 28 of gestation and is defined as the period of time when the embryos attach to the uterine wall. Stress should be avoided during this time, as maternal recognition of pregnancy is taking place and many associated hormonal changes are occurring.

Thus, mixing is suggested to occur pre (day 4 of gestation) or post (day 35+/ pre check)- implantation. Research agrees that mixing should not occur during the time of implantation; however, research is inconsistent on which mixing strategy is superior[2].

Hospital Pens, Don’t Forget Them!

When planning for group-housing, hospital pens do not seem to be a top priority or perhaps are not discussed in the detail they should be. Research and experience have shown us that gestating females in pens fight, and as a direct result, injuries occur.

Having a plan for injured sows is imperative to maintain productivity and animal welfare. Walking an injured 500 lb+ female to the nearest crate, can be quite the challenge. Thus, producers should carefully plan hospital pens to be successful, allowing for 3 to 5% of the floor space being designed for hospital pens.

Group Housing Can be Done with Success

In summary, having success when housing pregnant females in groups can be done, but is a multidimensional variable that is impacted significantly by feeding system, space allowance, group size and composition, and time of mixing.

The list of considerations continues beyond the scope of this review, including group structure (static or dynamic), pen design (waterers, nesting walls, etc), flooring (slatted, partial slats, etc.), and bedding material (enrichment). It is important to be familiar with each of these topics to create the best environment and best opportunity for success.

Also, the companies with which you decide to work will impact the success of your installations. Knowledge and real-life experience of the situation are mandatory.

Gestal for group-housing

The Gestal 3G is a free access feeding system that combinates the benefits of a free access stall and of electronic feeding systems without their downsides. Developed by Jyga Technologies, which owners are producers, the system is reliable and allows for great results in gestation without having to train sows for multiple hours.

By Dr. Lori Thomas

Gratien Thériault

Samuel Lefebvre

Documentation 

[1] Li, Yuzhi. 2015. Research on group-housing for sows. Available: https://wcroc.cfans.umn.edu/sites/wcroc.cfans.umn.edu/files/Full%20paper%20%28YL%29%20Research%20on%20group%20housing%20for%20sows.pdf

[2] Hemsworth, P. H., M. Rice, J. Nash, K. Giri, K. L. Butler, A. J. Tilbrook, and R. S. Morrison. 2013. Effects of group size and floor space allowance on grouped sows: Aggression, stress, skin injuries, and reproductive performance. J. Anim. Sci. 4953-4964.

[3] Spoolder, H. A. M., M. J. Geudeke, C. M. C. Van der Peet-Schwering, and N. M. Soede. 2009. Group housing of sows in early pregnancy: A review of success and risk factors. Livest. Sci. 125: 1-14.

[4]Turner, S. P., and S. A. Edwards. 2000. Housing in large groups reduces aggressiveness of growing pigs. Proceedings of the 51st Annual Meeting of the European Association for Animal Production. The Hague, The Netherlands. 21-24.

[5] Turner, S. P., G. W. Horgan, and S. A. Edwards. 2001. Effect of social group size on aggressive behavior between unacquainted domestic pigs. Applied Animal Behavior Science. 74:203-215.

[6]Kirkwood, R. and A. Zanella. 2005. Influence of gestation housing on sow welfare and productivity. National Pork Board Final Report.

[7]Salak-Johnson, J. L., S. R. Niekamp, S. L. Rodriguez-Zas, M. Ellis, and S. E. Curtis. 2007. Space allowance for dry, pregnant sows in pens: body condition, aggressiveness, and reproductive failure in group-housed sows. J. Anim. Sci. 85:1758-1769.

[8] Strawford, M. L., Y. Z. Li, and H. W. Gonyou. 2008. The effect of management strategies and parity on the behaviour and physiology of gestating sows housed in an electronic sow feeding system. Can. J. Anim. Sci. 88: 559-567.